Dead Until Dark: Review

Posted on Updated on

Screen Shot 2014-09-02 at 5.07.47 PM

Since Dead Until Dark is technically a romance it’s not exactly my cup of tea. But since it was cheap on Audible and I was in the mood for something different, I decided to give the Sookie Stackhouse series a whirl. And I’m glad that I did as Dead Until Dark provided a very entertaining listen while folding laundry.

First I’ll talk about the story itself before delving into the audiobook aspects. The first story in the Sookie Stackhouse series provides drama, mystery, romance, and a touch of humor to create a cute little book. The story follows Sookie as she is seduced by a vampire at work, gets tangled up with a killer, and deals with her own “disability” (she can read minds). Sookie deals with everything thrown her way like a champ, dishing out her southern wit/sass at anyone who stands in her way.

I really enjoyed Sookie as a character. For a romanced lady in a romance novel, I thought that she had pretty good principals. I didn’t feel like she was a slut during most of the book and I thought that she acted realistically. I also really enjoyed her sass and southern witt, both of which added good entertainment factor to the book.

Charlaine Harris writes in a style that makes a perfect audiobook. I can’t exactly vouch for how well the book reads when you’re reading it to yourself, but her writing style definitely suits an audiobook format. I didn’t have any trouble keeping up with what was going on or how the characters were feeling/acting.

Now- onto the audiobook portion. I thought that the audible narrator did a fantastic job reading this book. She had a southern accent that was perfectly suited for this story. She did a really good job of reading the book, but because of her accent I could only listen to the book for so long at a time before it began to get cloying.

The only thing that would have made this book better for me is if there had been no sex in it at all, but I understand that this is technically a romance and thus must have sex scenes in it. In the end, I would recommend this book for those looking for a classic southern romance, with some fantasy, humor, and a little bit of a mystery thrown in for good measure.

3 thoughts on “Dead Until Dark: Review

    therealrene said:
    September 2, 2014 at 10:47 PM

    Follow my Blog? I do reviews on Rock N Roll Autobiographies.

    therealrene.wordpress.com

    elegantly eco said:
    September 2, 2014 at 11:48 PM

    Lol. I’ve read the whole series & some books are great. Others were more uneven. I did enjoy the first book as well.

    sfporter said:
    November 20, 2014 at 10:07 AM

    I’ve just started reading Dead Until Dark, despite having read some rather scathing reviews. Like you, it’s not what I would normally read but I’m finding there is merit in the writing style and the capturing of that southern Louisiana style and making it come across strongly and convincingly in the book.

Leave a Reply

