The City: Review

Posted on Updated on

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 7.39.20 AM

I was a little apprehensive when I first began reading this book. I’d read quite a few Koontz books prior to reading The City and the start of this book just didn’t feel like a typical Koontz story. After I got about a third of the way through the book however, that feeling changed greatly. The intrigue picked up and I found myself sucked into the story and the characters.

This story centers around a man, Jonah Kirk, as he recants some strange goings on that happened in his childhood. Johan Kirk’s childhood was tumultuous to say the least. Although able to find escape in piano and music, Kirk dealt with a disappointing father and rather sinister mystery involving some pretty shady people. Although at the beginning of the story I found myself wondering when the mystery and excitement would pick up, it quickly does, carrying the reader along on a journey through a few scary years in the life of a young boy.

The characters in this book are all dazzling. Even when I wasn’t able to relate to the characters (which didn’t happen often), I still found myself lapping up the descriptions of their everyday lives. All of the characters were realistic and spellbinding, reminding me of those people you encounter in everyday life that just seem magical for some reason.

The writing in this book wasn’t exactly typical Koontz writing style, but that doesn’t mean that the writing wasn’t enjoyable to read. The writing in this book seemed so much deeper and more elaborate than a typical Koontz novel, which just added to the spellbinding element of the story. I definitely enjoyed reading the writing in this book.

I would highly recommend this book for those interested in reading books featuring bewitching characters and a marvelous storyline. While it’s important to go into this expecting something a little different than the typical Koontz novel, this book still delivers a marvelous read that can be enjoyed by many.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

5 thoughts on “The City: Review

    onlybooksandhorses said:
    July 3, 2014 at 1:06 PM

    Thanks for reviewing this – while I’ve yet to read anything by Koontz, I’m really anticipating it after reading this 🙂 Do you have a favourite of his books, or a recommendation of which is best to start with?

      echooutside responded:
      July 3, 2014 at 2:21 PM

      I’m glad I’ve sparked your interest! But that’s a toughie to choose a book to start with. I would recommend starting with book 1 in his Odd Thomas series or with this book. Some of his books are parts of a series, so it’s good to check whether that’s the case before picking up a book. Good luck!

    WORDMAN said:
    July 3, 2014 at 2:02 PM

    I’ve been eyeing this one. Now, thanks to your review, have added it to my ‘cart’.

    stephaniesbookreviews said:
    July 3, 2014 at 10:02 PM

    This is one of the books I’m reading right now and I’m glad to know it picks up! I’m like 13 or so chapters in and it hasn’t really caught my interest yet. I’ve never read another Koontz book, but this definitely isn’t what I was expecting. This review is helping me decide to finish it, though!

Leave a Reply

