Sting of the Drone: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

This book, while dealing with an important issue, is also a great, action-packed thriller. 

The plot of this book is really great. The story revolves around multiple sub-plots that all come together at the very end. This book kept me on the edge of my seat right up until the very end, waiting to see what would happen next.

This book deals with the issue of drones, although at times it is hard to tell whether the author is in support of drones or not.Sting of the Drone presents the issue from both sides, that of the people controlling the drones and that of the people living in the aftermath of drone attacks. This book, while not exactly changing my opinion on anything, definitely gave me something to think about and educated me better on the use of drones around the world.

The characters in this book were mediocre. While I don’t think the author set out to create outstanding characters, rather than inform the reader on an issue, I found myself not caring at all about the characters. While I did feel that the characters always seemed to act in a realistic manner (so props to the author on that one), I didn’t feel a connection with any of the characters, making this book feel more like a nonfiction read than a fiction read.

The writing in this book was pretty good. I found that once I picked the book up, I had a hard time putting it down, which for me is the mark of a good author. The author does a good job of writing technical information in a manner that the reader can understand and keeping the information exciting and relevant.

The one thing that I didn’t like about this book was the formatting. Each chapter, usually, takes place in a different location with a different set of characters (although they are all connected). While it was stated at the beginning of each chapter where the chapter took place in, I found that I had to flip back a few pages to occasionally remind myself where the chapter took place in. It took me about half the book before I really got in the habit of paying close attention to where the chapter took place in.

In the end, I would say this is a pretty good book that brings to the light a touchy subject. This is definitely a good book to read if you’re looking for a fiction book that will still teach you something about a current issue.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Sting of the Drone: Review

    Bookgirl said:
    May 23, 2014 at 6:40 AM

    Thrillers are one of my favourite genres, but it can be a little jarring if you have to flick back through a book to be reminded of something.

    Sarah K said:
    July 13, 2014 at 4:02 PM

    It’s good to see the issue of drones gaining a wider audience. Pakistan has been at the bearing end for a decade now. But the sad part is majority of the literature on drones, whether fiction or non-fiction is written by Americans. Even if the books are written with neutral point of view, they cannot fully comprehend the emotional underpinnings of a Pakistani. But we cannot blame others when we are also to blame for putting out so scant literature on this critical issue. For example in the last two years only two books authored by Pakistanis on the topic of drones have appeared, namely: The Thistle and the Drone by Akbar Ahmed (non-fiction) and Bullets and Train by Adeerus Ghayan (fiction).

Leave a Reply

