The Invention of Wings: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

The Invention of Wings is one of the best fiction books that I have read in a long time. In fact, I think it’s one of the best fiction books that I have ever read.

The story alternates perspectives between that of Handful, a slave, and that of Sarah, the slave-masters daughter. Along with the stories of those two girls, the reader also is exposed to stories of other slaves, stories of Sarah’s family, and stories of the abolitionist movement, all through the eyes of two women.

The story itself is fantastic. The Invention of Wings is a powerful story that gives a human element to the tales of slavery and the abolitionist movement. This is definitely one of the better books that I have ever read about slavery. While there isn’t much too much action within the plot of this book, what there is instead is real-life trials and challenges for the characters to face, regardless of whether they are held captive by slavery or just by their own mind.

The characters in this book were all exceptional. Handful, especially, was a remarkably dynamic character and I loved reading the chapters that were from her perspective. All of the characters seemed realistic and it was easy to imagine them as actual people. Their reactions to the situations they were faced with, while not always what I wanted them to do, were exactly what I would expect a normal person to do.

The characters also showed remarkable growth throughout the story. Growth in characters was always something that teachers talked about in school but I never understood or read an example of until I read this book. Each of the main characters in this book grew in some manner, whether it was just expanding on traits they already had or finally moving away from the traditional role, each character greatly moved forward.

The writing in this book was absolutely wonderful. The author does a fantastic job of writing descriptive phrases throughout the book. It was so easy to visualize what the characters were seeing and what they were talking about that I almost felt as if I were watching the story rather than reading it. Also, her tone of writing for each of the characters completely matched what I would expect the character to sound like if they were telling the story, making this book a true joy to read.

This is definitely a book that I would recommend to anyone looking for a heartwarming book about friendship and strength through slavery. I would also recommend this book if you’re looking for a fantastic fiction read, this is definitely one of the standout books of the year.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley. 

6 thoughts on “The Invention of Wings: Review

    Reeca said:
    May 21, 2014 at 1:43 AM

    Great book and great review!!

    tballa04 said:
    May 21, 2014 at 1:50 AM

    Sounds interesting! Great review 🙂 I’ll be adding this to my to-read list.

    booknerderie said:
    May 21, 2014 at 2:28 AM

    Great review! Adding this to my TBR list

    ryandejonghe said:
    May 21, 2014 at 4:51 PM

    I have the Secret Life of Bees on my shelf and had this one in my hands from the library, but sadly had to return it before opening it. Sounds absolutely wonderful. Thanks for the review–I’ll be checking it out, again.

    Bookgirl said:
    June 19, 2014 at 4:25 AM

    i loved your review of this book. its one I’ll add to the ever expanding TBR list. BTW when I click on the home button it says this page is closed, is there a new address to follow?

      echooutside responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 12:04 PM

      I changed the name of the site to “premierbookreview” but that was a few weeks ago. Maybe it was just a glitch?

Leave a Reply

