Cop Town: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I struggled a little bit getting into this book but after the first couple of chapters, I found myself sucked wholly into the story.

The story itself was fantastic. The Atlanta police department is trying to track down a cop-killer while at the same time, the killer is tracking one of their cops. Cop Town is a fast-paced thriller full of twists and turns that will keep you glued to the pages until the very end. While the story is fast-paced, it’s also full of realistic details and lifelike scenarios that make the reader feel as if they’re living the story.

For the most part I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Most of the characters were realistic and enjoyable to read about. I found myself able to relate to many characters and to empathize with them if I was unable to relate exactly. Kate, especially, was a wonderful (female) character; strong and self-reliant, she sets a fantastic example for all literary characters everywhere. Maggie’s family, on the other hand, included the only characters in the entire story that really got on my nerves and I found myself disliking. All of the characters in Maggie’s family felt flat, unlike the lifelike characters found throughout the rest of the story. The reactions and actions of Maggie’s family felt fake and I found myself unable to really relate or empathize with the characters in her family.

The writing in this book was easy and enjoyable to read. I was a little flustered by the first chapter (or two) and assumed that I wouldn’t like the writing style but it turns out that I just didn’t like Maggie’s family and actually found the writing style a pleasure to read. After the chapter(s) about Maggie’s family are over, the writing and action really pick up and the story starts moving. The author does a fantastic job of describing everything, without being overly graphic at parts, definitely something I appreciate in a thriller author.

I would recommend this book to all looking for a solid thriller. This one has characters that will resonate within you while still containing a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat (and maybe make you scared to be home alone at night).

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

3 thoughts on “Cop Town: Review

    stephaniesbookreviews said:
    May 15, 2014 at 8:33 PM

    I have this book sitting on my netgalley book. It’s my next read I think. I enjoy Karin Slaughters Will Trent series. Have you read those?

      echooutside responded:
      May 15, 2014 at 8:55 PM

      No, this was the first book by Karin Slaughter that I have read. I’ll have to look for that series the next time I’m at the library.

    Bookgirl said:
    May 16, 2014 at 8:55 AM

    I have just started getting back into thrillers, I will check this one out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

