Fatal Enquiry: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

A novel reminiscent of Sherlock Holmes, but with much more flavor, Fatal Enquiry is sure to give any mystery reader a thrill.

Set in Victorian London, Fatal Enquiry follows enquiry agents Cyrus Barker and Thomas Llewelyn as they set out to thwart arch nemesis Sebastian Nightwine before he can complete his evil scheme. The only problem is, Barker and Llewelyn are wanted men, framed for dastardly deeds by Nightwine himself, in his attempt to stop them from stopping him. Along the way Llewlyn and Barker meet up with some interesting characters and demonstrate remarkable detective enquiry skills. 

The plot of this book is remarkable. While showing some similarities to the Sherlock Holmes novels (mainly in setting), this book offers so much more in terms of action and an engaging plot. This book kept me on the edge of my seat wondering whether the Barker and Llewlyn would be able to get themselves out of whatever mess they found themselves in and be able to stop Nightwine in time. This book was full of action and kept me guessing until the very end; definitely a marvelous plot.

The characters themselves were very engaging. Llewlyn, especially, is a very dynamic character and I found myself interested in his life story (I will obviously have to read the first 6 books…). Llewlyn (and the other characters) were relatively easy to relate to, despite the fact that they were experiencing things I have never experienced.

Will Thomas writes in a style that is pleasant to read and easy to understand, making Fatal Enquiry a joy to read. Thomas writes simply, will still giving enough details and descriptions to avoid leaving the reader fumbling around in the dark. I found his writing style easy to just dive into and begin reading and then difficult to stop reading. 

Overall I truly enjoyed this book. I think that anyone who loved the Sherlock Holmes novels will find something that they enjoy about this book and anyone who is interested in mysteries (especially taking place in Victorian London) will greatly appreciate this story.

5 thoughts on “Fatal Enquiry: Review

    tm3912 said:
    May 8, 2014 at 9:16 PM

    Sounds like a very interesting book. However at 12.99 for e-book I will never know. Sorry.

      echooutside responded:
      May 9, 2014 at 11:05 AM

      Oh wow, that is a little pricey! I would just check it out from the library whenever it’s available! 🙂

    zareenn3 said:
    May 10, 2014 at 4:31 PM

    Hi Jennifer! Thanks for liking my post! I see we have something in common-we both write reviews! However, I think you have read way more books than I have.
    Seems like a god novel. But I don’t like the mystery type-but I’ll buy it anyway for my brother!

    Corri said:
    May 12, 2014 at 7:50 PM

    Nice review.

Leave a Reply

