A Dark Inheritance: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

This book has a seriously fascinating premise- young Michael, whose dad disappeared a little while back, can alter reality. Because of his remarkable talent, the same organization his dad worked for (kind of like a secret agent) wants his help to track down his dad and bring him back home. There is also some other mysterious stuff going on in the town with a new girl in school and a “suicidal” dog.

While this book did have the potential to be truly interesting, and an intense read, it fell a little flat. Maybe there’s hope for the next few books in the series, but I’m not sure if I’ll read them to find out. I was rather disenchanted with the messy plot. There’s a lot of different stuff going on, especially at the beginning, and it was challenging to keep everything straight. I really had to focus on everything that was going on and pay really close attention to all the parts of the plot, which is unusual for a young adult book.

Despite the muddled plot, the writing in this book was pretty decent. The dialogue between the characters read realistically and the author does a good job of describing scenery in a way that allows the reader to get a rough picture in their head and then expand on it from there.

The characters in this book were another aspect that I felt needed some polishing. Michael is not really a very dynamic main character. I understand that he had a lot thrown at him at once, with discovering his ability and all, but I felt that he was just lagging behind the other characters. It seemed as if he were always a step or two behind all of the other characters, fumbling around just trying to get on their level. I was really not pleased with him as a main character, at all.

In the end, I have to say that I was disappointed with this book. I felt that the story had a lot of promise but the execution was just lacking. If you have a young reader who is dying to read this book, I’d still say give it a shot, they might not feel the same way that I did. But if you, yourself, are looking to read this book, I would recommend skipping it, there are better young adult books out there to read.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

2 thoughts on “A Dark Inheritance: Review

    WORDMAN said:
    April 30, 2014 at 1:57 PM

    This is a good review. I like it. You give a concise understanding of what this book is about as well as what it could have been and what it is not. I thought it would be something I’d like but now I know it isn’t. Thank you.

      echooutside responded:
      April 30, 2014 at 2:28 PM

      I thought it would be something I would enjoy as well. I hate it when books are a disappointment. Thanks for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

