Least Favorite Books

Posted on

After reading so many books, it’s surprising how few I seriously dislike… My “Not Worth It” shelf features a measly 8 books. That being said, to make it onto my “Not Worth It” shelf, I need to seriously hate a book.

Number 1:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.09.07 AM

Title: The Kindly Ones

Author: Jonathan Littell

Why I Hate It: I had heard this book was controversial and I honestly assumed it was just because of the graphic descriptions of the atrocities of WWII. I went into this book figuring it would be gross, figuring there would be a lot of graphic deaths, and figuring that it would be upsetting. I never anticipated just what would be so graphic and upsetting about it. The author seems to have a fixation on poop… and not just any poop, specifically pooping out bugs. I couldn’t even get into the story because I couldn’t get passed the descriptions of the dreams that the main character was having, about pooping out bugs. I would say that I’d like to give this book another shot (I still own it, so it shouldn’t be too hard to pick up and read) but the book is soured for me, I really don’t want to revisit any bug poop, thank you very much.

Number 2:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.18.20 AM

Title: When You Are Engulfed in Flames

Author: David Sedaris

Why I Hate it: While amusing (at times) I felt that this book was entirely pointless. Sedaris presents stories of his life in an unconnected manner without much flow. At the end of this book I thought to myself, “Now what have I gained by reading this book?” the only answer I could think of was only that I had just wasted an hour of my time reading this book that seemingly had no point.

Number Three:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.23.57 AM

Title: Jitterbug Perfume

Author: Tom Robbins

Why I Hate It: I have tried to read this book countless times and have never been able to finish it. I always get stuck somewhere around 3/4 of the way through. I just find myself unable to continue and expose myself to more uncomfortable mentions of sex and horny goats. The philosophy in this book is really quite fantastic and if there weren’t so many references to sexual deeds then this would probably have become one of my favorite books.

Please note that this list is subject to change.

6 thoughts on “Least Favorite Books

    Animal Culture said:
    April 17, 2014 at 6:47 PM

    Yeah, we all have those books that aren’t up to par for us.

    One book that is on my “Not Worth It” list, is Swamplandia by Karen Russell. The disengaging plot, unnecessary ramblings, and terrible/lazy ending just didn’t cut it for me.

    booleangal said:
    April 18, 2014 at 4:49 AM

    I love this! I do the same, which begs the question- Why do we readers alway keep persisting with books we really don’t enjoy?

    Gillian Cartier Hollett said:
    April 18, 2014 at 5:11 AM

    I might be causing controversy myself here, but I did not like Middlemarch at all. It was just boring to me.

    I love this post for your up -front-ness!

    fredreeca said:
    April 19, 2014 at 11:27 AM

    Love this!! I very seldom read a book I don’t like. Too many good books out there.

    Joseph Nebus said:
    April 19, 2014 at 8:16 PM

    I’m intrigued by these as books that have particularly good reasons for not being liked. The Kindly Ones seems like the most bafflingly not-likable one.

    Ripley Trout said:
    April 20, 2014 at 3:26 PM

    Seemingly obvious but really good idea for a list post. Interesting to see what ‘bugs’ people. i like listening to Sedaris being interviewed on the radio but can’t get into his writing either. One controversial choice for my list would be ‘Wuthering Heights’ with its abusive violence passed off as passion and just everyone in general acting like demented stupid toddlers.

Leave a Reply

