If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

“If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur” is a delightful children’s book, explaining all the potential uses of a dinosaur pet.

I’m not a young boy, so I have no longstanding fascination with dinosaurs like it seems so many young boys do. Yet, even as an adult woman, I was able to greatly enjoy this story. The uses for the dinosaurs were incredibly unique, ranging from a babysitter, to an umbrella, to a lawn mower. I definitely enjoyed the creative ideas that are in this book, they truly make “If you Happen to Have a Dinosaur” an enjoyable read.

The illustrations in this book are absolutely darling. The people themselves are all awkward looking, while still managing to look loveable. And all of the dinosaurs look different, adding great variety to each page of the book. The illustrations are crisp and bright and do a fantastic job of illustrating what is written on the page. Some of the more hilarious uses for a dinosaur (such as a babysitter) have appropriately hilarious illustrations, and the same goes for the more serious uses and their appropriate illustrations.

The one problem that I found with this book is that the sentences don’t flow perfectly together. A little bit of rhyme, or similar sentence flow, would have gone a long way in making this book even more enjoyable. That being said, this book would be a perfect book to read over and over (and over and over again) as rhyming books have a tendency to get on ones nerves faster than a book without rhyme.

The final thing I wish to mention in regards to this book is the ending. The ending of “If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur” is absolutely hilarious and the perfect way to close the story. The second to last page acknowledges the fact that not every young child just happens to have a dinosaur lying around and suggests other animals that they might have instead. The very last page of the story ends with, “What can you do with a kangaroo?”, leaving open the option for the author to write subsequent stories along the same lines as this one.

I would definitely recommend, “If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur” to those with younglings loving dinosaurs, or those looking for a humorous picture book with adorable illustrations.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

10 thoughts on “If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur: Review

    catherinemryan said:
    April 17, 2014 at 6:16 PM

    I’m a big fan of dinos myself—I’ll have to look for this one next time I’m at the library!

      echooutside responded:
      April 17, 2014 at 6:24 PM

      It hasn’t been published yet, so it might be a bit before it’s available at your local library! I would highly recommend checking it out via NetGalley!

        opesopinions said:
        April 18, 2014 at 2:05 PM

        I want to read this book to my granddaughter!

    April Wood said:
    April 18, 2014 at 12:29 AM

    Oh how cute! I know a little girl who loves dinos! I will recommend to her parents! 🙂

    russellboyle said:
    April 18, 2014 at 8:22 PM

    I also like there to be “a little bit of rhyme”

    alisonmanson1 said:
    April 18, 2014 at 10:14 PM

    I have 2 little girls who will love this book by the sound of it. Do you know when it is due for publication? Getting them to concentrate on a story when they have access to a computer is next to impossible, the games win out every time, sadly, but they do still love books and my 6 year old still takes a torch to bed so she can read under the covers. I pretend not to notice rather than pretending to disapprove 🙂 Thanks for liking my story, by the way. I hope you enjoy the nest one too.

      echooutside responded:
      April 18, 2014 at 11:53 PM

      The publication date is listed as May 13, 2014! enjoy!

    mumjd said:
    April 19, 2014 at 10:37 PM

    Sounds a fun book

    Richard H. McBee Jr. said:
    April 23, 2014 at 10:19 PM

    Just posted on my facebook and to my google. Looks like a neat book for my grandson!

Leave a Reply

