Favorite Books

Posted on

I have read so many good books throughout my lifetime. Here are my top three:

Number 1:

Screen Shot 2013-09-03 at 8.43.13 AM

Title: The Name of the Wind

Author: Patrick Rothfuss

Why I Love It: This book is my all-time favorite book and I have a hard time believing that another book will ever come close to rivaling this book for my top spot. Rothfuss has truly created a masterpiece with this story. He paints a picture of a land so magical, yet so believable, that I want to spend the rest of my life there. Rothfuss also manages to weave incredibly complex and relatable characters, characters who show tremendous growth throughout the story. While normally not a fan of fantasy, this book plays on subtle fantasy elements that managed to draw me right in. There isn’t really anything not to love about The Name of the Wind.

Number 2:

Screen Shot 2013-09-03 at 8.39.56 AM

Title: Collapse

Author: Jared Diamond

Why I Love It: This is the perfect introductory non-fiction book. Jared Diamond manages to give an in-depth overview (is that even possible?!) of how/why societies fail or succeed. Diamond manages to write a quality non-fiction book that is easy to pick up and finish, even for those who don’t normally read non-fiction. It manages to capture the attention and bring light to an interesting subject.

Number 3:

Screen Shot 2013-09-03 at 8.33.33 AM

Title: The Thirteenth Tale

Author: Diane Setterfield

Why I Love It: I’m a total sucker for books  about books as well as protagonists who prefer books to people, and this book definitely brings all that to the table. The writing is beautiful, painting a stunning picture of a life without being overbearing. If you’re looking for a book similar to The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, without the intimidating page count, this is the perfect book!

 

Please note that this list is subject to change.

9 thoughts on “Favorite Books

    Lauren Henderson said:
    April 18, 2014 at 4:31 AM

    I keep seeing recommendations for The Name of the Wind series. I think that will be my next fantasy series to try.

    Michelle Proulx said:
    April 19, 2014 at 3:15 PM

    Excellent choice with The Name of the Wind! Of course, I haven’t read the other two, so I can’t comment on those 😀 Any idea when the third book is coming out? The wait is slowly driving me mad. MAD, I say!

      echooutside responded:
      April 19, 2014 at 3:39 PM

      Oh I know, it’s driving me crazy! I don’t think Pat’s set a date yet exactly but I think sometime between 2014-2018. He did just have a worldbuilders thing offering a book to some beta reads, so hopefully that means it’s getting close!

    Debra Beilke said:
    April 21, 2014 at 6:56 PM

    I also like books about books and LOVED “Shadow of the Wind.” I liked “The Thirteenth Tale,” too. Have you read Jared Diamond’s “Guns Germs and Steel” (or something like that?) I think you’d enjoy it. It sounds similar to the one you reviewed.

      echooutside responded:
      April 21, 2014 at 11:20 PM

      Yes I have read that book, I really enjoyed it!

    BookerTalk said:
    April 27, 2014 at 8:10 AM

    I e not read anything by Setterfield but since I enjoyed the Zufon novels this sounds like a good option. Thanks for the tip

    Crysta said:
    May 11, 2014 at 12:17 PM

    The name of the wind is one of the best novels of all time! Great list.

    ithinkweareallnuts said:
    May 15, 2014 at 10:14 PM

    Hello, first of thank you for your recent like. I love your book review style. It’s specific and to the point. Please feel free to come back and review my writings. V.Vlas

    Marissa Knox said:
    July 3, 2014 at 2:33 PM

    The Name of the Wind has been on my TBR list for a while now, I will definitely have to check it out soon.

Leave a Reply

