In The Dark: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

In The Dark by James Key is a modern whodunit mystery with intriguing characters, shocking plot twist, and engaging writing.

The plot of this book is really interesting. In The Dark follows Jimmy, a young private detective, as he works to solve the case of the Parkhurst family and their mysterious murder/stalker issues. As he works the case, Jimmy discovers many secrets about the Parkhurst company, as well as the Parkhurst family- exposing a wealthy family clad in sinister secrets.

I thought that the film noir references were a fascinating aspect of this book. I wish that the author had referenced specific things about film noir, or specific examples of film noir, rather than just a basic mentioning of film noir itself. But I did think that mentioning film noir set the mood of the story in a way that was easy for the reader to grasp and understand.

The characters in this novel were interesting. Dora Parkhurst had some interesting characteristics about her and was a fascinating character to read about. Although her actions, along with the actions of other characters, seemed fake or forced at times, for Dora, it was understandable why she would be socially awkward and why her actions would seem forced. I did not have as easy of a time excusing the other awkward characters. There were numerous times when the characters were talking or interacting with each other that I thought to myself, “real people don’t behave or speak in that manner”.

Another problem that I encountered in regards to the characters speaking with each other was the format of the conversation. At times I found myself confused as to who was speaking at what time. That might have just been a flaw in the formatting of the book I received, but when reading this book you’ll have to pay close attention as to who is speaking when as the author doesn’t make it extremely clear.

Despite the awkward characters and script of the characters, the writing in this story was surprisingly polished. Key writes in a manner that flows smoothly and consistently. His sentences circulate nicely within each other, no sentence seems too long or too short. The writing avoids becoming choppy, even when characters are speaking short sentences to each other. The author also does a nice job of describing places and events in a manner that is easy for the reader to visualize and follow. It was easy to visualize the places, the cars, or the events that were occurring while reading this novel.

In the end I would have to say, give this novel a shot. In The Darkis a fascinating read, with a disturbing ending. Although this book isn’t the best that I have ever read, due to the lacking characters, it was still a quick and enjoyable read for a Monday night. Definitely a book I would recommend for lovers of whodunit mysteries.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

6 thoughts on “In The Dark: Review

    booknerderie said:
    April 8, 2014 at 3:31 PM

    Sounds interesting! Might have to check this one out!

    WORDMAN said:
    April 8, 2014 at 4:28 PM

    This one is going on my TBR table! Thanks for teasing me into this one. I like it.

    WORDMAN said:
    April 8, 2014 at 4:32 PM

    Ok – I can’t find this book! Any suggestions?

      echooutside responded:
      April 8, 2014 at 4:37 PM

      When I tried to find the book on Amazon to post my review, I couldn’t find it either! Since I received the book from the publisher to review, I would check the publishers site. http://goldorchidpublishing.com/readers-section/catalogue/author/k

      Hope this helps!

        WORDMAN said:
        April 8, 2014 at 4:51 PM

        Thanks but it is only available in Epub or Kindle – I’ll wait and hope for a hard copy. Darn it.

        echooutside responded:
        April 8, 2014 at 4:53 PM

        Oh shucks! I would contact the publisher and see if/when one can/will be printed, she seems really nice and helpful!

Leave a Reply

