The Wolf: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

This book took me a few chapters to get engrossed in, and I honestly wasn’t holding out much hope for the story. I’m glad that I decided to stick with the story because by the fourth or fifth chapter I was truly sucked into a fascinating read.

The story follows “The Wolf” or Vincent, a young man/criminal mastermind, who recently lost his wife and two daughters to a terrorist attack. Reeling from the aftermath of the killing, Vincent sets out for revenge, starting a war between all of the professional criminal organizations and all of the terrorist organizations.

This story thrilling, but also causes the reader to think a little bit about professional criminals and terrorists. I never really thought about the difference in criminal forms before reading this book, but while reading this story it really got me thinking. While I was thinking about the difference in criminal forms, though, I was still completely engrossed in the action of this book.

The action in this book is subtle and diabolical. The author takes the reader on a step-by-step journey of the war between the organizations. While the majority of the book, especially the beginning, takes place in “the boardroom” it’s easy to feel the tension as the action escalates to stopping bombs before they go off. The author did a breathtaking job of building up the conflict and leading the reader through the process, instead of just jumping right into the action.

The characters in this book were all unusually interesting. Vincent, as a mob boss yet still a loving father, was a very dynamic and engaging character. His pain over the loss of his wife and daughters was evident, yet he kept his head in the game in order to exact his revenge on the terrorists who destroyed his family. Jimmy, Vincent’s handicapped brother, was also another dynamic character. I did not expect Vincent to have a handicapped brother, especially one he routinely goes to for advice. Jimmy definitely added a new and refreshing dimension to the stereotypical criminal storyline.

The narrative shifts between first and third person do take a little bit of getting used to, but luckily there is a clear pattern. When the story is from Vincent’s perspective, the author uses first person to describe conversations and events that take place within that section. If the point of view is from any other character’s perspective, the author uses third person to describe the action. While normally not a fan of shifting narratives, I found that this style was very effective for this book. It allowed the reader to truly feel as if they were right there with Vincent, or that he was describing the details to them after the fact.

Regardless of the narrative shifts (even though I didn’t find them problematic), I was rather fond of this authors writing style. The author did a fantastic job of making me feel, while reading, that I was right there in the midst of the action. It’s a rare book that can truly make me <i>feel</i> the events, but this author put me right there.

Although this book does take a few chapters to get immersed into, it is definitely worth the read. The unique story, dynamic characters, and refreshing writing style make this book a joy to read. Definitely a book that I would recommend for any reader who is a fan of criminal thrillers. I will definitely be looking for more books written by this author in the future.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

4 thoughts on “The Wolf: Review

    April Wood said:
    April 8, 2014 at 1:32 AM

    Great review!

    Karen said:
    April 8, 2014 at 7:48 AM

    Thanks for this review! Another book for my TBR list.

    mom2hjk said:
    April 8, 2014 at 6:41 PM

    Sounds like something I would be interested in!

    hncook4 said:
    April 13, 2014 at 9:32 PM

    Great review! This sounds really interesting. I’ll have to add this to my TBR pile.

Leave a Reply

