The Frangipani Hotel: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I found myself very disappointed with this book. While I can’t say that I didn’t like the book, because I did, it just fell way below my expectations.

The story is based on the tales that a young girl was told by her grandmother. They are traditional Vietnamese tales but have modernized to relate to events of cultural and world significance, such as the Vietnam war. All of the tales are fascinating and relate somewhat to each other.

I found myself really struggling to get into this book because of the writing style. The writing style just seemed choppy and mediocre. The author writes herself and her grandmother into the story, just as a young girl interviewing her grandmother to get the stories, but I didn’t really like how it was woven into the story. The interruptions of the girl did just that, interrupt the story, making the flow awkward and choppy. I also felt that the authors descriptions of the stories were very simple, she didn’t include all that much extra description or storytelling.

I also found the stories themselves rather bland. I understand that they are culturally significant stories but they just didn’t pique my interest. I found myself rather bored throughout most of the stories and not able to get myself interested in them.

All that being said, I’m still glad that I read this book. It was an interesting read and if you’re really interested in traditional Vietnamese stories with a modern spin, then you will love this book, it just wasn’t enough to catch and hold my interest.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

