Always Going: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

This is a cute little memoir, reminiscing about a childhood in Texas, Oklahoma, and California. It’s a quick and feel-good read, reminding me faintly of [book: A Girl Named Zippy], a book that also takes place in a dusty landscape.

The story is decent. I’m not a huge fan of books that reminisce about childhood and times past, but this book was still a decent read. The author faced a disjointed childhood and did the best that she knew to make the most out of it. There is some humor within this book, but mostly it is just a relatively sorrowful tale of a young girl and her childhood. It’s amazing how much detail the author was able to recall of times when she was so incredibly young (4 years old), but I guess there are just some things that stick with you.

The writing in this book was pleasant to read. The words used were incredibly simple, which makes this book perfect for readers of almost any level, and the style was simple as well. The story was easy to follow without much that got distracting. I wish there had been a little more depth to the writing, but I understand that the author is not a professional and the writing style is perfectly suited for the book.

In the end there isn’t much I can say about this book. It’s a story of a young girl’s childhood years in the southwest/midwest. The story is an easy read, something that is a pleasant read but doesn’t stand out, and the writing is incredibly simplistic. I enjoyed the book but am glad that it only took me a day to read as I don’t think I would have wanted to spend any more time reading it.

I was asked to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Always Going: Review

    billyriel1971 said:
    April 1, 2014 at 5:15 PM

    Thanks for the recent visit to my Western genre site….much appreciated. You have a very interesting – and diverse – selection of reviews here!
    All the best,
    Chad
    http://westernsreboot.com/

    Cheryl said:
    April 2, 2014 at 7:22 PM

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that occasionally reads a book and says “well I’m glad that wasn’t much longer” 🙂 Sounds like a good quick read!

    marabird said:
    April 2, 2014 at 9:57 PM

    Sounds interesting. I’d like to read it.

Leave a Reply

