How Not to Calm a Child on a Plane: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

The beginning of this book I found hilarious, but by the end of the book the story had lost much of its charm.

The beginning of this book starts out incredibly strong, with the author describing her pre-birth classes and the actual birth process. There were numerous times throughout the first few chapters that I found myself laughing out loud and having to share the funny snippet I had just read with anyone even remotely close to me. The book sort of went downhill after the first couple of chapters, the author talked more about lessons of marriage/with her husband than about parenting experiences. I found myself wondering a few times during the latter section of the book, what exactly the information had to do with “Other Lessons in Parenting”. That being said, I still found myself laughing out loud during a couple scenes/sections in the second part of the book.

I thought that the information in this book was extremely amusing and that this book would definitely be a great book to give to new/old mothers. While the information in this book isn’t entirely helpful, it’s still amusing and is guaranteed to put a smile on any mothers (or non-mothers) face.

I thought the writing in this book was witty and refreshing to read. The author writes in a very conversational style, almost as if she’s speaking and telling her story to the reader. Normally I’m not a fan of that style of writing, but it worked exceptionally well and flowed very smoothly in this book. The only problem that I had with the writing style were the constant footnotes. I didn’t think they added any necessary information to the story and found that, in fact, they extremely interrupt the flow of the book.

I would recommend this book to parents and non-parents alike. This book is a quick, easy read that is great for a chuckle (or full blown laughter).

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

