Dog Gone, Back Soon: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

Going into this book I was a little apprehensive. Because I was invited to read the book on NetGalley, I didn’t really look at the plot description before I sat down to read this book. The other part that made me apprehensive about reading this book was the fact that I’m not by any means an animal love, in fact, I’m terrified of almost all animals.

Even though I was apprehensive going into this book, my trepidation was quickly put to rest. This story is one that anyone will enjoy, animal lover or not, full of genuine characters, fresh writing, and an engaging story.

This book is an incredibly enjoyable read. The story follows the life of Cyrus, a young man recently moved back to his hometown to take over his late fathers veterinary practice. The story mainly focuses on the cases that Cyrus takes on, which I found absolutely fascinating. Many of the cases are medical mysteries that Cyrus takes over because the pet’s owners are disappointed with the care they are receiving at their previous vet (Healthy Paws, Bedside Manor’s rival).  The story also focuses a lot on the relationship Cyrus has (or doesn’t have) with Amy. I was less pleased with this aspect of the story (I hate romance in books), but the author managed to keep the relationship mature and inoffensive.

The characters in this book were really enjoyable to read about. All of the characters came off as highly genuine and relatable. I especially enjoyed reading about Cyrus. He’s an incredibly lifelike character and it was entertaining to read about his misadventures. It is obvious that the author really enjoys writing about the characters as they just ooze authenticity and satisfaction.

The authors writing style was crisp and original. Nick Trout writes in a style that is simple, yet still enjoyable, perfect for this genre of book. He writes in a manner that would be easy for any reader to read and enjoy, regardless of experience reading. I will definitely be on the look out for other books written by this author as I really enjoyed his refreshing style of writing.

In the end, I really enjoyed this book. The author does a fantastic job of creating relatable characters, introducing a unique storyline, and writing in a refreshing style. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, regardless of whether they love animals or not.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

2 thoughts on “Dog Gone, Back Soon: Review

    cwbybrick said:
    March 28, 2014 at 10:21 PM

    Followed & on my blog roll!

    Dennis the Vizsla said:
    April 13, 2014 at 1:35 AM

    hello jen its dennis the vizsla dog hay i am glad yoo enjoyd this buk!!! i am with yoo on animals beeing skarry i am rather frightened of pritty mutch ennywun hoo is not my mama or my dada or my sister the beautiful trixie dog but at leest if yoo reed abowt them in buks they cannot show up at yore howse and bite yoo or steel yore toys!!! ok bye

Leave a Reply

