The Here and Now: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I was a little apprehensive going into this book; I saw on NetGalley that the story had elements of romance and that usually means I won’t be interested in the story. But because I was invited to read this book, I didn’t feel as if I could not read it. And once I saw it was written by the same author who wrote The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, which I had loved when it first came out, I couldn’t not read this book.

So I sat down and begin to read. The storyline is fascinating. Simply, the story follows a young woman, Prenna, who is from the future. She lives with a few other people who are also from the future and has to follow a strict set of rules to stay alive. She’s a rebellious young lady and doesn’t agree with the majority of rules, but for the most part she goes along with them because she is forced to. Then one day she finds out about something (it’s hard to describe the plot without giving anything away) and her whole world is turned upside down. Her and her love interest, Ethan, work together to break all of the rules and keep her safe at the same time. That’s about as simple as I can make the plot. Obviously there is a lot more going on in this story, but because things happen so quickly, it’s really a challenge to describe the plot without exposing the exciting and mysterious parts.

This book focuses a lot on the future. Prenna and others came from the future because the world was falling apart. The description of the future and the plague that ravaged the world are so realistic and descriptive that it honestly gave me chills. It was easy to imagine the plague actually happening in real life and the future ending up as exactly the way the author described.

The writing in this book was decent. I found myself a little confused at the beginning, before some of the mysteries are revealed, but by the time I was 25% done with the book things began to clear up and I had no trouble following the story. The author does a good job of describing things in the book in a way that is easy for the reader to picture in their head, but without being overly descriptive and cloying. The only major problem that I had with the writing, excluding the confusing beginning, was the way the author writes the characters interacting.

I felt that the interactions between characters seemed fake and forced. I understand that Prenna is from the future and is repressed, so her interactions with other characters would probably be a little awkward just on principle. Yet it seemed like all of the characters and the way they interact with each other just wasn’t believable. I found myself wondering why the characters where acting the way they were or saying what they were saying because everything just seemed a little awkward and forced.

That brings me to the awkward relationship between Prenna and Ethan. Honestly, I strongly disliked it. I’m not a huge fan of any romantic relationships between characters in the books I read but for some reason the relationship between Prenna and Ethan seemed worse than usual for me. I felt that the reader just doesn’t know enough about the characters for their relationship to be meaningful, it just feels like a fake relationship.

Alright, so in the end I am really torn about what I felt about this book. There were many things that I disliked about the writing and the characters, yet I felt that the premise/storyline of this book was so fascinating. I don’t think that I would recommend this book unless you are extremely interested in books where there is a strong, awkward love-interest otherwise I would recommend skipping this book in favor of something else.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

6 thoughts on “The Here and Now: Review

    angus48 said:
    March 9, 2014 at 4:25 PM

    Excellent reviewing. I enjoy reading your take on things. Keep up the good practices.

    WORDMAN said:
    March 9, 2014 at 6:17 PM

    This is a decent Review. Glad to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t care for the Romance genre. I don’t particularly like this author’s writing style. Thanks for an honest rendering.

    Ami@bunkersdown said:
    March 10, 2014 at 4:38 PM

    I loved Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants! And the second and third books in the series. But that fourth book was wretched- so very, very wretched. All of which has made me very hesitant to read anything else from Ann Brashares.

    miasnotes said:
    March 12, 2014 at 5:44 PM

    It looks great Jen! Nice review!

    elegantly eco said:
    March 12, 2014 at 10:50 PM

    Nice review!

    The Here and Now by Ann Brashares | booking rehab said:
    March 20, 2014 at 10:14 PM

    […] The Here and Now: Review (bookreviewsbyme2.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

