Gastronomy of Italy: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

While I wasn’t able to read a hardcover of this book, I was able to read an ebook.

This is much more than just a simple recipe book; packed with definitions and explanations, this book covers everything relating to Italian cooking from A-Z. The definitions were informative and offered just enough information to get a grasp on the term, without overloading the reader with excess information.

The recipes seem very intriguing. This book includes recipes that are traditional to Italy, not the “Americanized” versions. For me, this is exactly what I was looking for but if you aren’t a fan of traditional Italian cooking then this isn’t the book for you. I’m very excited to try the recipes in this book, although a few I have made before (or similar recipes).

The writing in this book is pleasant. The author defines terms in a pleasing manner that are easy to read and understand. There is enough description without being overloaded with definitions, definitely a pleasing read if you have an interest in Italian cooking.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It reminded me a little of the book Cooking with Italian Grandmothers, which is one of my all-time favorite books about Italian cooking. I will definitely be purchasing this book in the near future so that I can try out the recipes and because I want a hard copy.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

One thought on “Gastronomy of Italy: Review

    WORDMAN said:
    April 19, 2014 at 2:18 PM

    I have a grand collection of Cook books. I will be adding this one to the lot~! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

