White Fire: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I received the eBook version of this book from NetGalley, and then the publisher contacted me about sending me a hardcover copy of this book. A few days later I received my hardcover copy in the mail and sat down to read.

I’ll start out by saying that I had never before read a novel starring Pendergast, yet I wasn’t confused. It might have helped that this book focused more on Pendergast’s apprentice, Corrie, but I still felt that the authors did a nice job of re-introducing the characters without requiring prior information to understand the story.

The plot in this book was really intriguing. There was a mystery of some long-dead miners that related to Conan Doyle and there was also another mystery involving house fires in the area. As the reader is exposed to each mystery there is a lot of action and the reader is left wondering whether things will tie together at the end and how things could possibly be related. There is so much going on with all the mysteries in this book that there truly is not a dull moment.

I truly enjoyed the ending of this book and think that the authors did a fantastic job of tying everything together in the end. Not only was everything tied up nicely, but also the ending was entirely plausible. I truly enjoy it when books are believable and this story certainly was.

The tie in to the missing Sherlock Holmes story was a fantastic part of this book. I expected this to be a basic detective novel but the tie in to another book/author really set this book apart and brought it closer to the literary fiction genre. The Sherlock Holmes aspect added something for this people who love to read about classic detectives or literary topics, truly setting this book apart from others in the genre.

The writing in this book was really pleasant. I don’t think that I had ever read a book that was written by two authors before and this was the perfect book to start with. The writing is fluid and easy to read, although there aren’t any signature author styles in this story, there is still enough uniqueness to make this story an enjoyable one to read.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 8/10 stars. While it isn’t in my top favorite books, this story is a perfect one to curl up with and immerse into on a lazy day.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

