The Organ Grinder’s Monkey: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

The premise for this book sounded fantastic and I couldn’t wait to read. Yet, I only got a couple of chapters into this book before I realized that this book was not for me.

The writing style of this book definitely wasn’t enjoyable for me. The author writes in a manner that is extremely conversational and it began to get really annoying by about the second page.

I was super excited to read this book because I thought that the plot sounded extremely solid and interesting. The beginning of the book didn’t have a strong enough plot for me, it was basically just describing the “royal family” and the jobs that the author had to do, all in a really sarcastic and somewhat rude manner.

Finally, the majority of this book is written in italics, which makes it incredibly difficult to read. In fact, I found that I was getting somewhat dizzy just by reading this book.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 2/10 stars. I truly didn’t like anything about this book. In fact, I couldn’t even finish it.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

