We Are Our Brains: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

My overall impression of this book was that I truly enjoyed it, yet when I pick things apart I discover that this book isn’t as great as I thought it was.

There are many fantastic facts presented in this book. I found myself constantly highlighting information that I wanted to remember at a later date. I also found myself sharing the facts I had highlighted with my family and friends (much to their annoyance as there were a lot of facts to share).

Yet although there were a lot of facts, some of them didn’t seem very believable. I found myself yearning to look up some of the facts in this book for a second opinion. For example, one of the facts that I highlighted was that “Recent studies have shown that girls who suffer from the eating disorders anorexia and bulimia nervosa often had problems at birth, including low birth weight. The more numerous such problems are, the earlier eating disorders manifest themselves in young adults.” I couldn’t quite bring myself to believe that as the author makes it sound as if all girls who are suffering from these disorders experienced problems at birth. There were a couple of facts like that which I had a hard time believing.

Although there are a lot of facts, the story as a whole is somewhat disjointed. The book did seem more like a collection of brain facts as opposed to an education book providing a clear message on the brain. I also noticed that there was a good amount of repetition throughout the book. Sometimes repetition can be a good thing, reinforcing points from previous chapters, but with this book I found myself getting somewhat exasperated. The author references other chapters many times within a chapter, which rather than aiding in understanding, just served to make things confusing and repetitive.

The writing in this book is really appealing. The book is written in an approachable manner, which makes it easy for anyone to read regardless of prior knowledge of the brain. The author also writes in a style that is really easy to read. The book just flies by because the author writes in such a simple manner.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 8/10 stars. While my overall impression was one of enjoyment, when I went back to think about the book there were a couple of things that could have been improved.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

One thought on “We Are Our Brains: Review

    glenn2point0 said:
    March 9, 2014 at 8:43 AM

    This is on my reading list. Will keep your comments in mind when reading it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

