The Heavens Rise: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I really enjoyed this book, up until about halfway through. I found myself really into the story at the beginning, yet it lost all magic and I got bored with it midway through.

The plot of this book is really quite unique. Nicky, Anthem, and Ben are a tight-knit group but when Nicky, and her entire family, mysteriously disappear; things just fall to pieces. Not only has Nicky’s family disappeared, but also it seems to be that the shady (and borderline psychopath) character, Mitchell, might have something to do with their disappearance. The story then follows along with what is going on in the lives of the characters as the reader learns more about what is going on with Mitchell and the disappearance of Nicky and her family.

The plot really captivated me up until about halfway through the story. Some of the major mysteries were revealed by the midpoint and I couldn’t bring myself to care enough about Nicky’s disappearance to maintain any interest in the book. I wish that the plot had kept up throughout the book, but things definitely weaken by the midpoint.

Although the plot started out strong, the writing was weak throughout the book. The jumps between past and present were a good technique to use for this book but they were not executed well. Each jump between time periods was jarring and left me confused, I often had to revisit the first page of the chapter to remind myself what time period that chapter was supposed to be taking place in. Excluding the sudden period changes, there wasn’t anything that really stood out to me as exceptionally good or bad about the writing itself.

The characters in this book were somewhat mediocre. Mitchell was somewhat of an exception as he was an incredibly interesting character. I found myself wondering what was going on with him as I was reading through the book. Without giving too much away, I will say that you need to read through a decent chunk of the book before things really start to get interesting with him. The other characters weren’t exceptionally interesting because they seemed like they were just depictions of everyday people. Yet, although they seemed to be everyday people, I had a really hard time relating to any of them.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 7/10 stars. Although I was bored by the halfway point, I truly enjoyed the first half of this story.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

