Dream of Time: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I have always enjoyed books about time travel, especially when the go back in time. This book, though, fell a little short of my expectations.

The premise of the story is really quite fantastic, a woman who when asleep in the modern world is sent back to San Francisco in the early 1900’s. And while the premise of the story is fantastic, the writing is definitely not. The writing seems like an amateur wrote it, there is not much description and the writing style itself seems very basic. It was really hard to even get into the story because the writing was such a chore to read through.

Once you got past the writing, the story itself isn’t all that bad. I found myself wanting to keep reading and figure out who was sending the main character back in time, and how that had even happened.

Although I wanted to find out what was happening to the main character, I really wasn’t overly fond of her. She wasn’t the kind of “take charge” character that normally features in stories; she was more passive and wimpy. I also didn’t really like her priorities – she seemed a little too focused on the men in the past and less about the history of the era.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 5/10 stars. I liked some aspects of the story, such as the plot, but I just couldn’t get past the mediocre writing and dislikable main character.

Received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

