The Whole Golden World: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I received this book from a Goodreads giveaway and honestly, I started reading it as soon as it arrived in the mail and I couldn’t put it down. It’s been a long time since I encountered a book that I literally couldn’t stop reading until it was finished.

This book, especially the beginning, reminded me a lot of J.K. Rowling’s “The Casual Vacancy”. Both books follow the problems of a couple families of characters, and follow the bizarre interactions of how the families end up connecting. Although they are similar, “The Whole Golden World” manages to draw out a lot more emotion in the reader and captivate the readers’ interest.

The characters in this book are really fantastic. I found myself loving all of them at the start of the book, when they’re first introduced, and hating half of them by the end, when their true colors were shown. Morgan is a fantastic main character, despite being naïve and bitchy. She shows tremendous growth throughout the story though, and by the end I couldn’t help but root for her.

The book is arranged in a way that really suits the story. Each new paragraph is told from the perspective of one of the main characters. The book also alternates from the present to the past, with the latter part of the book taking place only in the present. I thought that was a really smooth way to arrange the story, it was easy to understand what was going on while still providing some mysteries for the reader to ponder.

The author did a really nice job of making it clear to the reader which paragraph was from which characters’ perspective. There were only a couple of times throughout the entire book that I found myself confused as to who’s perspective was being told – but that was mainly because I hadn’t read close enough or it would be revealed in the next couple of sentences.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 9/10 stars. Although this book doesn’t make it onto my 10/10 stars list, it comes extremely close. I genuinely enjoyed this book and the characters throughout it. I would highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “The Whole Golden World: Review

    ncreadergirl said:
    September 24, 2013 at 1:26 PM

    Sounds like an interesting read, while I am on the fence about the swapping suddenly perspectives, the story as a whole sounds interesting.

      runningturtle1 responded:
      September 24, 2013 at 1:36 PM

      Normally I am not a huge fan of the swapping perspectives, but this book does it very nicely. It’s easy to follow and understand. I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

