Life Interrupted: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

This was a very readable and thought-provoking book. Before reading this book I knew almost nothing about forced labor in the United States, the only things I knew was what I could learn from the news. After reading this book I feel like I’m actually educated on the topic, that I could talk with someone about this and actually have some idea of what I was talking about.

This book is extremely approachable. While the author does throw a lot of information at the reader at a time, she writes in a style very similar to that of a documentary, making the information easy to absorb. In fact, I could almost hear the voice of a narrator in a documentary as I was reading this book.

I enjoyed the focus this author took on the stories of many individuals. I thought that was a very interesting route to take with this book. It really allowed the facts that were being cited to become more relatable and personable to the reader.

I also really enjoyed the fact that the author didn’t focus solely on Hispanic laborers. It was eye-opening to read about people who had come from other countries and were trafficked into forced labor in the United States as well.

Things did get a little bit repetitive at times. Sometimes it seemed as if the author was just repeating points she had made earlier in the book, but usually it just served to reinforce an earlier point and tie chapters together.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 7/10 stars. I enjoyed the information but the writing wasn’t exactly stellar.

I received this book for review purposes via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

