Never Go Back: Review

Posted on Updated on

Image

I received a copy of this book through a giveaway on Goodreads and was pretty excited. I had read the first couple Jack Reacher novels a few years back and had genuinely enjoyed the books; I couldn’t wait to see what the latest novel starring Jack Reacher would be like.

This book certainly did not disappoint. If you are already a fan of either Jack Reacher or Lee Child, then you will definitely not be disappointed with this book. If you have never read a book by Lee Child and are looking for a great secret agent/mystery book, odds are likely you will be disappointed with this book.

The plot of this book is decent. It’s an intriguing story with a lot of depth and a lot of minute details. There were so many details that the story got a little bit confusing at times. I had a rough time keeping what was hard fact and what was speculation by the characters straight. That being said, I did like all the attention to detail. It was obvious while reading that Child had spent many hours researching and immersing himself in the details of his story, which made the story seem extremely authentic.

I also had a hard time keeping the characters themselves straight. At the end of the book, a couple of characters were reintroduced and I found myself flipping back through the book trying to remember who they were and what their purpose was. The main characters though were very dynamic, Reacher was his typical self and I enjoyed his interactions with the other characters.

The writing in this book is mediocre. Child isn’t an awful writer, and he certainly is better than most at writing realistic dialogue, but there isn’t anything about his writing style that stands out as exceptional. This book read like it could have been written by anyone, not a bestselling author.

Bottom Line: I would give this book 8/10 stars. I enjoyed the story, although things got a little confusing at times, and it was a typical Jack Reacher novel (which is what I was looking for).

One thought on “Never Go Back: Review

    lasesana said:
    December 13, 2013 at 11:12 PM

    Hi!
    I’ve been reading your book reviews and would like to invite you to a new Pinterest board:

    This is a place for book lovers to share their favorite books and also a great place to increase traffic to your website by pinning your own book reviews or book-related discussions.

    To join, please follow the board http://www.pinterest.com/lasesana/books-to-read-reviews-and-recommendations/ (I cannot invite you to join the group unless we both follow each other), when I see you join, I’ll invite you to pin! If you don’t get an invitation, shoot me a quick email lasesana@gmail.com including your Pinterest username and I’ll send you the invitation!

    (you don’t have to approve this comment- this message is just FYI and not blogspam)

Leave a Reply

